Car Insurance Requirements – All 50 States

Car Insurance Requirements - All 50 States

What insurance coverage are drivers required to have in your state? Here is a list of the car insurance requirements in all 50 states.

In the United States, 48 out of 50 states require drivers to carry car insurance. However, car insurance requirements vary – in some cases significantly – between states. When you are injured in a car accident, understanding your state’s mandatory car insurance law is an important step toward determining how much you may be able to recover.

We have compiled the car insurance requirements for all 50 states. Scroll down or choose a link below to find out what type(s) of coverage are required in your state:

There are Five Main Types of State-Mandated Car Insurance Coverage

There are five main types of state-mandated car insurance coverage. However, not every state requires all five types. In fact, some states only require two or three (and two states do not require any car insurance at all). The five main types of required car insurance are:

  • Personal Injury Protection (PIP) – Personal injury protection (PIP) provides coverage for medical expenses and lost wages. It is a form of “no fault” coverage, which means that you can file a claim without proving who was at fault in your accident. You can even file a PIP claim if you were at fault in your collision.
  • Medical Payments (MedPay) – Medical payments (MedPay) provides “no fault”’ coverage for medical expenses from car accident injuries. Med Pay is only required in a handful of states, and coverage limits are usually pretty low.
  • Bodily Injury Liability (BIL) – Bodily injury liability (BIL) insurance is fault-based coverage that pays for other drivers’ and passengers’ injuries when the insured driver is at fault in a collision. Most states require BIL coverage—including many “no fault” states where this coverage is available to drivers and passengers who suffer serious traumatic injuries.
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (UIM) – Uninsured/underinsured motorist (UIM) insurance is fault-based coverage similar to BIL, but it provides coverage for the insured driver. Just under half of all states require UIM coverage. A unique aspect of UIM coverage is that many states’ laws allow for “stacking” when a driver has multiple covered vehicles.
  • Property Damage (PD) – Property damage (PD) insurance covers the damage to other drivers’ vehicles when the insured driver is at fault in a collision. In some states, PD coverage also covers the insured driver’s vehicle. Every state that requires car insurance requires PD coverage, although specific terms and coverage limits vary. Some states also require drivers to carry uninsured/underinsured property damage coverage to cover circumstances in which an at-fault driver’s coverage is either non-existent or insufficient to cover the repair or replacement cost of their vehicle.

Car Insurance Requirements: States Beginning with A through G

State
Car Insurance Requirements
State Statute or Agency Website
AlabamaBIL: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

PD: $25,000 per accident

Alabama Department of Insurance – Automobile Insurance FAQs
AlaskaBIL: $50,000 per person/ $100,000 per accident

PD: $25,000 per accident

Alaska Department of Administration – Mandatory Insurance and Financial Responsibility
ArizonaBIL: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

PD: $15,000 per accident

Arizona Department of Transportation (DOT) – Vehicle Insurance Information
ArkansasBIL: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

PD: $25,000 per accident

Arkansas Insurance Department – Automobile Insurance
CaliforniaBIL: $15,000 per person/ $30,000 per accident

PD: $5,000 per accident

California Department of Motor Vehicles – Insurance Requirements
ColoradoBIL: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

PD: $15,000 per accident

Colorado General Assembly – Mandatory Automobile Insurance in Colorado
ConnecticutBIL: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

UIM: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

PD: $25,000 per accident

Connecticut Department of Insurance – Automobile Coverage Information
DelawarePIP: $15,000 per person/ $30,000 per accident

BIL: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

PD: $10,000 per accident

Delaware Code Title 18 – Insurance Code
FloridaPIP: $10,000 per accident

PD: $10,000 per accident

Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) – Florida Insurance Requirements
GeorgiaBIL: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

PD: $25,000 per accident

Georgia Department of Revenue – Insurance

5 Important Facts about Mandatory Car Insurance

If you have been injured in a car accident, it will be important for you to have an understanding of what insurance coverage is available to you. With this in mind, here are five important facts about filing a car insurance claim after a collision:

1. Some States are “Tort” States, and Others are “No Fault” States

One of the first things you need to know when seeking insurance coverage after an accident is whether you live in a “tort” or “no fault” state. In “tort” states, you can file a claim for BIL or UIM coverage regardless of the severity of your injuries. However, in “no fault” states, accident victims are often limited to filing for PIP or MedPay—unless they can prove that they have suffered significant or permanent injuries. As identified by Nationwide, 15 states have car insurance requirements that mandate “no fault” coverage:

  • Arkansas
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Hawaii
  • Kansas
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • New York
  • North Dakota
  • Oregon
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Washington
2. You Need to File Your Claim On Time

There are deadlines for filing an insurance claim after a car accident. This includes a deadline established by state law (learn about the car accident statutes of limitations in all 50 states) and a deadline established by your insurance policy. Even if coverage is available to you, if you wait too long to file, you could lose your ability to recover just compensation. As a result, you should file a claim promptly, and you should hire a car accident lawyer to help you recover the compensation you deserve.

3. The State Car Insurance Requirements are Minimum Coverage Limits

The state car insurance requirements are minimum coverage limits. It is possible to purchase additional coverage—and many people do. When filing an insurance claim after an accident, not only do you need to determine what coverage is available, but you also need to find out how much coverage is available under each applicable policy.

4. You May Be Entitled to Multiple Types of Mandatory Coverage After an Accident

In many cases, it will be possible to secure multiple types of car insurance coverage after an accident. For example, you may be able to file a PIP or MedPay claim to cover your short-term medical expenses and lost wages, and you may be able to file a BIL claim in order to secure additional compensation. If you have UIM coverage, you could also file a UIM claim to further maximize your recovery. Of course, you can also file a PD claim to cover your repair bills or the cost to replace your vehicle.

5. It Is Up to You to Prove How Much You are Entitled to Recover

When you file a car insurance claim, it is up to you to prove how much you are entitled to recover. The insurance companies are not going to calculate your medical bills, lost wages, and pain and suffering for you. Calculating these losses is not easy; and, in order to make sure you are truly seeking just compensation, you will need an experienced car accident lawyer on your side.

Car Insurance Requirements: States Beginning with H through M

State
Car Insurance Requirements
State Statute or Agency Website
HawaiiPIP: $10,000 per accident

BIL: $20,000 per person/ $40,000 per accident

PD: $10,000 per accident

Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs (DCCA) – Motor Vehicle Insurance Information
IdahoBIL: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

PD: $15,000 per accident

Idaho Statutes Section 49-1229 and Idaho Transportation Department
IllinoisBIL: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

UIM: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

PD: $20,000 per accident

Illinois Secretary of State – Mandatory Insurance
IndianaBIL: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

PD: $25,000 per accident

Indiana Department of Insurance – Auto Insurance
IowaBIL: $20,000 per person/ $40,000 per accident

PD: $15,000 per accident

Iowa Insurance Division – Automobile Insurance
KansasPIP: See notes to the right.

BIL: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

UIM: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

PD: $25,000 per accident

Kansas Insurance Department – Auto Insurance

 

Mandatory PIP coverage includes $4,500 for medical expenses, $4,500 for rehabilitation expenses,$900 per month for 12 months for lost wages, and $25 per day for in-home services

Kentucky*BIL: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

PD: $25,000 per accident

Drive.KY.gov – Mandatory Insurance

 

*As an alternative, to the mandatory insurance coverages listed, it is also an option to purchase a policy with a single limit of $60,000.

LouisianaBIL: $15,000 per person/ $30,000 per accident

PD: $25,000 per accident

Louisiana Department of Insurance – Auto Insurance
MaineMedPay: $2,000

BIL: $50,000 per person/ $100,000 per accident

UIM: $50,000 per person/ $100,000 per accident

PD: $25,000 per accident

Maine Professional & Finance Regulation – Insurance Required by Law
MarylandBIL: $30,000 per person/ $60,000 per accident

UIM: $30,000 per person/ $60,000 per accident

PD: $15,000 per accident/ $15,000 per uninsured driver

Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) Insurance Requirements for Maryland Vehicles and Maryland Insurance Administration – A Consumer Guide to Auto Insurance
MassachusettsPIP: $8,000 per accident

BIL: $20,000 per person/ $40,000 per accident

UIM: $20,000 per person/ $40,000 per accident

PD: $5,000 per accident

Mass.gov – Basics of Auto Insurance
MichiganPIP: $250,000 per accident (lower limits available for qualified Medicare and Medicaid beneficiaries)

BIL: $50,000 per person/$100,000 per accident

PD: $25,000 per accident outside of Michigan/ $1 million per accident in Michigan

Michigan Secretary of State – Insurance Requirements and Michigan.gov – Michigan’s New Auto Insurance Law
MinnesotaPIP: $40,000 per accident

BIL: $30,000 per person/ $60,000 per accident

UIM: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

PD: $10,000 per accident

Minnesota Commerce Department – Auto Insurance Basics
MississippiBIL: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

PD: $25,000 per accident

Mississippi Insurance Department – Auto Insurance
MissouriBIL: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

UIM: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

PD: $25,000 per accident

Missouri Department of Insurance – Automobile Insurance
MontanaBIL: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

PD: $20,000 per accident

Montana Department of Justice – Insurance and Verification

What Does It Mean to Have Car Insurance Coverage “Per Person” or “Per Accident”?

As you may have noticed, each type of mandatory car insurance coverage is listed as either “per person” or “per accident.” What does this mean?

If coverage is listed as “per person,” this means that this is the coverage that is available to an individual driver or passenger injured in an accident. For example, if a state car insurance law requires BIL coverage of $25,000 per person, this means that you should be have access to a minimum of $25,000 in coverage for your personal injury-related losses.

If coverage is listed as “per accident,” this means that this is the total amount of coverage available to all individuals who are injured in a collision. So, if your state’s car insurance requirements include BIL coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident, this means that if three people are injured, they will collectively be able to recover up to $50,000 (not $75,000).

Car Insurance Requirements: States Beginning with N through O

State
Car Insurance Requirements
State Statute or Agency Website
NebraskaBIL: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

UIM: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

PD: $25,000 per accident

Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles – Insurance Requirements (Proof of Financial Responsibility)
NevadaBIL: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

PD: $20,000 per accident

Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles – Nevada Insurance Requirements
New Hampshire*MedPay: $1,000

BIL: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

UIM: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

PD: $25,000 per accident/ $25,000 per uninsured driver

New Hampshire Insurance Department – Your Guide to Understanding Auto Insurance in the Granite State

 

*Car insurance is not required in New Hampshire; but, if purchased, these are the minimum requirements.

New JerseyPIP: $15,000 per accident

PD: $5,000 per accident

New Jersey Department of Banking & Insurance – Get Legal with New Jersey’s Basic Auto Insurance Policy
New MexicoBIL: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

PD: $10,000 per accident

New Mexico Motor Vehicle Department – Insurance
New YorkPIP: $50,000

BIL: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

UIM: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

PD: $10,000 per accident

New York Department of Motor Vehicles – New York State Insurance Requirements and New York Department of Financial Services – Shopping for Auto Insurance
North CarolinaBIL: $30,000 per person/ $60,000 per accident

UIM: $30,000 per person/ $60,000 per accident

PD: $25,000 per accident/$25,000 per uninsured driver

North Carolina DMV – Insurance Requirements and North Carolina General Statutes Section 20-309
North DakotaPIP: $30,000 per accident

BIL: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

UIM: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

PD: $25,000 per accident

North Dakota Insurance Department – Auto
OhioBIL: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

PD: $25,000 per accident

Ohio Department of Insurance – Automobile
OklahomaBIL: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

PD: $25,000 per accident

Oklahoma Insurance Department Rules – Title 365
OregonPIP: $15,000 per accident

BIL: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

UIM: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

PD: $20,000 per accident

Oregon Driver & Motor Vehicle Services – Insurance Requirements

Tips for Filing a Car Insurance Claim After an Accident

Do you need to file a car insurance claim after an accident? If so, here are five tips for filing a claim for mandatory car insurance coverage:

1. File Your Claim Promptly

In order to protect your legal rights and make sure that you are able to receive compensation as soon as possible, you should file your claim promptly.

2. Do Not Give a Recorded Statement

When filing your claim, you should report the details of your accident, but you should not provide a recorded statement in which you explain what you think happened or who you think was at fault.

3. Follow Your Doctor’s Advice

Once you see a doctor (which you should also do promptly), be sure to follow your doctor’s advice—this includes attending all follow-up appointments and resting as necessary.

4. Make Sure You Do NOT Settle Too Soon

Once you settle, your claim is over. As a result, it is extremely important to make sure that you do NOT settle your claim too soon.

5. Get Advice from a Local Car Accident Lawyer

The best way to protect yourself after a car accident is to hire an experienced lawyer to deal with your insurance company, calculate your losses, and negotiate for a favorable settlement.

For a more in-depth explanation of what you should do after a car accident, you can read our free comprehensive guide: Steps to Take After a Car Accident.

Car Insurance Requirements: States Beginning with P through W

State
Car Insurance Requirements
State Statute or Agency Website
PennsylvaniaMedPay: $5,000 per accident

BIL: $15,000 per person/ $30,000 per accident

PD: $5,000 per accident

Pennsylvania Insurance Department – Automobile Insurance Guide
Rhode IslandBIL: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

PD: $25,000 per accident

Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles – Insurance Verification Program
South CarolinaBIL: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

UIM: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

PD: $25,000 per accident/ $50,000 per uninsured driver

South Carolina Department of Insurance (DOI) – Automobile Insurance
South DakotaBIL: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

UIM: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

PD: $25,000 per accident

South Dakota Department of Labor & Regulation – Automobile Insurance
TennesseeBIL: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

PD: $15,000 per accident

TN.gov – Why You Should Have Auto Insurance
TexasBIL: $30,000 per person/ $60,000 per accident

PD: $25,000 per accident

Texas Department of Insurance – Automobile Insurance Guide and Auto/Vehicle Insurance
UtahPIP: $3,000 per accident

BIL: $25,000 per person/ $65,000 per accident

PD: $15,000 per accident

Utah Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) – Vehicle Insurance Requirements
VermontBIL: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

UIM: $50,000 per person/ $100,000 per accident

PD: $10,000 per accident/ $10,000 per uninsured driver

Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) – Insurance
Virginia*BIL: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

UIM: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

PD: $20,000 per accident/ $20,000 per uninsured driver

Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) – Insurance Requirements

 

*Car insurance is not required in Virginia; but, if purchased, these are the minimum requirements.

WashingtonBIL: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

PD: $10,000 per accident

Washington State Department of Licensing – Getting a Driver License: Mandatory Insurance
Washington D.C.BIL: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

UIM: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

PD: $10,000 per accident/ $5,000 per uninsured driver

DC Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) – Vehicle Insurance
West VirginiaBIL: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

UIM: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

PD: $25,000 per accident/ $25,000 per uninsured driver

West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) – Insurance
WisconsinBIL: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

UIM: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

PD: $10,000 per accident

Wisconsin Department of Transportation (DOT) – Minimum Insurance Requirements
WyomingBIL: $25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident

PD: $20,000 per accident

Wyoming Department of Insurance – Auto Insurance FAQs

*The car insurance requirements for all 50 states listed above were last reviewed in 2020. You should review your state’s law to make sure you know what is required in your state; and, regardless of what insurance coverage is required, you should contact a lawyer to determine what coverage is available to you if you have been injured in an accident.

Learn about the car insurance requirements in your state.

FAQs: What Do You Need to Know about the Car Insurance Requirements in Your State?

Q: Can I opt out of purchasing mandatory auto insurance?

In some states, it is possible to opt out of certain types of mandatory auto insurance coverage. For example, in Indiana, insurance companies are required to offer UIM insurance with their policies, and this coverage will be included in your policy unless you specifically reject it in writing. However, even if you can opt out of purchasing car insurance, this does not mean that you should opt out of purchasing car insurance. It is important to have coverage when you need it; and, if you are involved in an accident, you will be glad you chose to pay for coverage.

What if the other driver chose to opt out of purchasing car insurance? In this scenario, you may be limited to seeking coverage under your own policy (which is yet another reason not to opt out). However, you may be able to file a claim against the driver directly, and you may have one or more “third party” claims as well. An experienced car accident lawyer can help determine what options you have available.

Q: How can I figure out if I have the required car insurance in my state?

You can figure out if you have the car insurance required in your state by reviewing your insurance policy (or asking a lawyer to review your policy for you). As a practical matter, however, the insurance companies all know the state car insurance requirements, and they will not sell you a policy that has less than the minimum required coverage. So, if you have auto insurance, then you should be in compliance with your state’s law. But, it doesn’t hurt to check; and, if you need to seek coverage after an accident, you will want to determine if you have coverage above and beyond your state’s requirements as well.

Q: How do I file an insurance claim after a car accident?

You can file an insurance claim after a car accident by calling your insurance company or using your insurance company’s claim app. There should be a phone number listed on your insurance card that is specifically for filing claims. While you can file a claim on your own, you can also hire a lawyer to help with your car accident insurance claim.

Q: Can I obtain insurance coverage up to my policy limit?

The amount you can recover after a car accident depends on the financial and non-financial costs of your injuries. If your losses exceed your policy limit, then you should be able to secure the full amount of your coverage. The same is true of filing a claim under an at-fault driver’s BIL policy. In order to calculate your car accident compensation (including current and future medical bills, lost wages, and pain and suffering), you will need to work with an experienced local car accident attorney.

Q: How can I make sure I receive a maximum settlement for my car accident claim?

In order to accurately calculate your losses and deal with your insurance company effectively (including avoiding and/or overcoming common reasons for insurance claim denials), you will need to work with an experienced attorney. You can hire an attorney at no out-of-pocket cost, and you can get started with a free online claim assessment 24/7.

Get a Free Car Accident Insurance Claim Assessment

Would you like help with your car insurance claim? To get the help you need to recover the compensation you deserve, contact a local car accident lawyer now. Click the button below to get started.